Masaryk University (MU) is the second-largest public university in the Czech Republic and the leading higher education institution in Moravia. At present, it comprises nine faculties with over 200 departments, institutes and clinics. Recognized as one of the most important teaching and research institutions in the Czech Republic and a highly-regarded Central European university, it has been infused with a strong democratic spirit ever since its establishment in 1919. Masaryk University was one of the first to introduce a three-tier degree structure based on the European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System and is currently the single higher education institution in the Czech Republic to hold the ECTS Label. Allocated in 2010 by the European Commission, the label constitutes proof of the university’s high educational standards and a guarantee of the correct implementation of the credit system in all Bachelor’s and Master’s degree programmes. Placing a great deal of emphasis on international, it is not a coincidence that MU was granted the first EAIE Institutional Award for Innovation in Internationalisation. This award recognises and rewards higher education institutions, which are actively engaged in internationalisation. Starting with only limited numbers of mobility within the programme Socrates – Erasmus, now MU is involved in almost all European mobility and research programmes and projects.